Revalympics Wrap Top


flowery top - front

I came up with this top as a challenge for the 2010 revalympics. The challange was double: to finish the top in 17 days and to use this wonderful yarn I bought in Wales the year I bought it (and not let it stay in my stash basket forever). it’s not a proper pattern, more a guideline but people have shown interest so here is how I made my cute wrap top:

Liat’s flowery wrap-top

note: this pattern requires making a gauge swatch.

yarn: Colinette wigwam in turquoise (I used 6 skeins, I’m an XL)
needles: circular 4mm

The top made from the bottom, then some shaping is applied and the body is bound off. The top part is worked out by crocheting flowers individually and stitching them to make shoulder straps and back.

1. make a gauge swatch of about 4×4 inch in the pattern of your choice (mine is seed stitch, or moss stitch)
2.. Using your gauge swatch, find out how many stitches per inch you got. them measure your waist.
3. I decided the body of my top would be 1.5 times my waist size. I calculated that and them multiplied it by the stitches per inch, like this:
waist x 1.5 x stitches per inch = how many stitches to cast on.
4. cast on and knit until you have a rectangle that’s 12 inch tall.

shaping:

k2tog, continue in pattern till last 2 sts of row, k2tog.

repeat this row for 2 inches (the body will be 14 inches long now).

mark the edges of your back, now you have three sections marked along your stitches: front 1, back and front 2. the front sections will be knitted seperately and the back will be bound off, like this:

first row – set up row:

k2tog, k in pattern to last two sts of front1, bind off back sts, k2tog, k in pattern to last two sts of front 2, k2tog.

move front 1 sts to scrap yarn. continue knitting front2 decreasing first and last st for 2 inches more. bind off and cut of yarn

pick up sts of front1 and do the same.

body is done and should be 16 inches long.

flowers:

Crochet flowers. I used two sizes, the big ones are the six petal flower pattern from Lion Brand yarn, which is also available in Nicky Epstein’s book, crocheted flowers along with the small six petal flower. I needed about 20 flowers.

putting it together:

arrange the flowers as the straps and along the back, and pin them. stitch everything together, leave the front two bottom stitches to the end, so you can try it on and decide what length you need before stitching.

ties:

either make two icords or crochet chains about 20 inches long. Imade a chain and then stitched the back with sl sts. attach them to the two front panels of the top.

I didn’t bother with making a hole for the strap, I just poke it through the knitting, and since I’m changing in size sometimes it works for me.

I’ll be adding more pics as soon as I get new batteries for my camera.

and here it is on my, courtesy of Orit:

feel free to ask questions, here or on Ravelry (my ravalry name is Liat)

Leave a comment